All reviews all the time! Home   Movies   Music   Video Games

 Search Amazon
 Browse CDs 

 Browse Songs 

 Amazon Music Lists 

 Other Music Review
While You Weren't Looking

music reviewmusic reviewmusic reviewmusic review  out of 4 Music Review: While You Weren't Looking

Artist: Caitlin Cary
Genre: Country, Folk, Rock
Release Date: March 2002

Review by Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
4 stars out of 4

Former "Whiskeytown" vocalist Caitlin Cary, and I stress the word former, has recently completed a two year project titled "While You Weren't Looking." The title is a lead in for what the entire concept of the album is about. Life can catch us off guard at times, and while Caitlin and her fans weren't looking she recorded a diverse, rich, full bodied emotion filled album. Caitlin calls this a wake up call to those who aren't paying attention to life going on around them; hence we need a push or shove, or some out of the ordinary music.

Her voice is sublime and it weaves a purposeful path through the mix of fine musicianship provided by her own voice and violin playing along with Mike Daly (guitars, singing), Skillet Gilmore (drums, percussion), Mike Santoro (bass), and Jen Gunderman (keyboards). The atmosphere is characterized by her heartfelt country, rock, and folk vocal style. This is not a style that cries out in desperate pain, its one of a person that has felt and lived the hurt of life, and one that has walked through the door and made it to the other side. Cary is like the girl next door, the one you remembered from high school that left town after graduation and traveled enough to spin a tale or two through a song.

One listen to the emotion and feeling expressed in "Shallow Heart, Shallow Water" and "Fireworks" you will immediately know what I have been talking about. Life can be unpredictable and full of unplanned events, then while you're not looking something gets you by surprise, like Caitlin Cary's new album.

Disc 1

1. Shallow Heart, Shallow Water
2. Please Don't Hurry Your Heart
3. Fireworks
4. What Will You Do?
5. Thick Walls Down
6. Sorry
7. Pony
8. The Fair
9. Too Many Keys
10. Hold On To Me
11. I Ain't Found Nobody Yet

Disc: 2

Bonus Mini-Disc
1. The Battle (w/ Ryan Adams)
2. Trickle of Whiskey
3. The Fair
4. Keys To the Fair



Home | Movies | Music | Video Games | Songs | | | Columbia House | Netflix

Copyright 1998-2002
Privacy Policy |  Advertising Info |  Contact Us