All reviews all the time! Home   Movies   Music   Video Games

 Search Amazon
 Browse CDs 

 Browse Songs 

 Amazon Music Lists 

 Other Music Review
The Best of Inxs

music reviewmusic reviewmusic reviewmusic review  out of 4 Music Review: The Best of Inxs

Artist: INXS
Genre: Rock/Pop
Release Date: October 2002

Review by Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
4 stars out of 4

Inxs was one of the most successful rock-pop bands to come out of Australia. They would still be rolling right along today I imagine if it were not for the strange and tragic suicide of lead singer Michael Hutchence in 1997. In the 80's they became legitimate rock superstars rising out of the pub circuits from down under. In the 90's, the group's popularity began to wane do to the onset of Seattle grunge rock and its rapid ascent into the consciousness of music buying youth. We will never know what they would have evolved into if Hutchence had lived. Now that is all history and we can still enjoy the music from their rock 'n' roll legacy.

There are two versions of this greatest hits package; this one has 21 tracks, the other that is available has 42. It is greatest hits compilations like this that remind you of great bands like Inxs and how many hit songs that they had. Admittedly, it has been several years since I heard all of these songs. They were one of the few groups from the decade of the 80's that really made an impression on me. For me it was fitting that this CD ended with "Don't Change." I remember hearing it for the first time and being totally turned on and excited, so I was on a quest to find a copy of "Shabooh Shoobah," their first major release. From that point forward, I enjoyed their output in the 80's.

They had a real funky sound and you could not detect any foreign enunciation when Hutchence belted out a song, although he did sound different from his contemporaries. He had a special energy around him and it radiated into the other members of the band.

No doubt, there is a particular chemistry going on with groups that find the kind of success that they did. A song that had tremendous impact here in the states was "New Sensation." You could here it playing on radio stations at any given time during the day or night. They were a rockin' band yet their songs were very danceable, taking their funky rock based music to another level that many groups sought but could not attain.

I don't think we need any more proof of the validity and importance of this group, its collections like this that say it all quite well.

1. Need You Tonight
2. What You Need
3. By My Side
4. Taste It
5. New Sensation
6. The One Thing
7. Disappear
8. Never Tear Us Apart
9. Original Sin
10. Mystify
11. This Time
12. Suicide Blonde
13. Beautiful Girl
14. The Gift
15. Listen Like Thieves
16. Devil Inside
17. Bitter Tears
18. Not Enough Time
19. Salvation Jane
20. Tight
21. Don't Change


Gary Beers - Bass
Andrew Farriss - Guitar, Keyboards, Remastering, Creative Consultant
Tim Farriss - Guitar
Michael Hutchence - Vocals, Cover Art Concept
Kirk Pengilly - Guitar, Saxophone, Vocals



Home | Movies | Music | Video Games | Songs | | | Columbia House | Netflix

Copyright 1998-2002
Privacy Policy |  Advertising Info |  Contact Us