All reviews all the time! Home   Movies   Music   Video Games

 Search Amazon
 Browse CDs 

 Browse Songs 

 Amazon Music Lists 

 Other Music Review

music reviewmusic reviewmusic reviewmusic review  out of 4 Music Review: Survival

Artist: Grand Funk Railroad
Genre: Rock/Pop
Release Date: November 2002

Review by Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
4 stars out of 4

On "Survival" Mark Farner plays some funky guitar licks on the opener "Country Road," and he keeps things rolling on the following track "All You Got Is Money." It's the kind of foot stompin' head bopin' blues and rhythm & blues inflected rock that their fans had become accustomed to since the group's inception. This was the band at their very peak as a trio. "Comfort Me" featured a rarely used acoustic guitar with Farner's soaring vocals. Mark certainly was getting to be a stronger and stronger presence as a lead singer, and his guitar playing was exemplary. They also do a nice job with two covers, "Gimme Shelter" and "Feelin' Alright." Farner and Brewer share the vocals duties on "Gimme Shelter." Farner rips off some awesome solos, and Mel's bass is right out front thumping away leading the charge.

There is a generous amount of bonus tracks on this remastered disc…five, and they are all exceptional. The sound is excellent, and that goes without saying regarding any of the EMI remaster programs.

It was all so wonderful and exciting to hear this music again because it energized you in a special way that only GFR could, and one that you could never forget. I think many listeners enjoyed the trio so much because of the rawness of their sound and the spitfire rock 'n' roll spirit that drove it all.

With routine and knowing what to expect comes boredom and limited growth, thus, there were some big changes coming with the next album, and the original GFR sound would become nothing more than a memory with the forthcoming album.


1. Country Road - 4:23
2. All You've Got Is Money - 5:16
3. Comfort Me - 6:47
4. Feelin' Alright -4:28
5. I Want Freedom - 6:19
6. I Can Feel Him in the Morning - 7:15
7. Gimme Shelter - 6:20

Bonus Tracks:

8. I Can't Get Along With Society
9. Jam (Footstompin' Music)
10. Country Road
11. All You've Got Is Money
12. Feelin' Alright

Mark Farner - Guitar, Harmonica, Composer, Keyboards, Vocals
Don Brewer - Drums, Vocals
Mel Schacher - Bass, Vocals



Home | Movies | Music | Video Games | Songs | | | Columbia House | Netflix

Copyright © 1998-2002
Privacy Policy |  Advertising Info |  Contact Us