All reviews all the time! Home   Movies   Music   Video Games

 Search Amazon
 Browse CDs 

 Browse Songs 

 Amazon Music Lists 

 Other Music Review
Rude Awakening

music reviewmusic reviewmusic review  out of 4 Music Review: Rude Awakening

Artist: Megadeth
Genre: Heavy Metal
Release Date: March 2002

Review by Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
3½ stars out of 4

I have to be honest; I didn't know anything about Megadeth before I got this promo for review. Okay, I had heard of them, I am not that bad off.

This is a very important and special release for the group's fans. It's a documentation of their fired up live show and it's their last release. I know what your thinking, and so was I- they will do a reunited tour with a new album in a few years, right? Don't count on it. Dave Mustaine, the group's leader, guitar player, and lead vocalist, had as serious accident that caused nerve damage in his arm. You guessed it, the one he plays with. Check the group's website for more details and a letter from Dave.

"Rude Awakening" is live two disc set. It's a disappointment when is comes to information or pictures, there are none. Perhaps it's because I got a promo copy, I don't know. The music is the important factor here and it's much better than I ever could have imagined. Just the name Megadeth gives you visions of hellfire, brimstone, and the grim reaper. It's not anything of the sort, trust me. This is pure rock and roll, make no mistake about it, it kicks ass and cuts right to the bone.

This really was a rude awakening for me; I am kicking myself for not discovering this great band many years ago. Well, better late than never. They have a good sized back catalog that I can dive into. Hey, who knows, stranger things have happened, Mustaine may recover fully from his injury and get the boys back together for one more run at the glory. Stay tuned…in the meantime, snag this CD up and rock til' ya drop.

Side One

1. Dread and the Fugitive Mind (Mustaine) - 4:12
2. Kill the King (Mustaine) - 3:50
3. Wake Up Dead (Mustaine) - 3:26
4. In My Darkest Hour (Ellefson/Mustaine) - 5:28
5. Angry Again (Mustaine) - 3:22
6. She Wolf (Mustaine) - 8:17
7. Reckoning Day (Ellefson/Friedman/Mustaine) - 4:24
8. Devil's Island (Mustaine) - 5:06
9. Train of Consequences (Mustaine) - 4:30
10. A Tout le Monde (Mustaine) - 4:49
11. Burning Bridges (Mustaine) - 4:56
12. Hangar 18 (Mustaine) - 4:45
13. Return to Hangar (Mustaine) - 3:54
14. Hook in Mouth (Ellefson/Mustaine) - 4:40

Side Two

1. Almost Honest (Friedman/Mustaine) - 3:57
2. 1000 Times Goodbye (Mustaine) - 6:14
3. Mechanix (Mustaine) - 4:36
4. Tornado of Souls (Ellefson/Mustaine) - 5:47
5. Ashes in Your Mouth (Ellefson/Friedman/Menza/Mustaine) - 6:04
6. Sweating Bullets (Mustaine) - 4:38
7. Trust (Friedman/Mustaine) - 6:46
8. Symphony of Destruction (Mustaine) - 4:50
9. Peace Sells (Mustaine) - 5:22
10. Holy Wars (Mustaine) - 8:51


Dave Mustaine: vocals, guitar
Al Pitrelli: guitar, backing vocals
David Ellefson: bass
Jimmy DeGrasso: drums



Home | Movies | Music | Video Games | Songs | | | Columbia House | Netflix

Copyright © 1998-2002
Privacy Policy |  Advertising Info |  Contact Us