All reviews all the time! Home   Movies   Music   Video Games

 Search Amazon
 Browse CDs 

 Browse Songs 

 Amazon Music Lists 

 Other Music Review
Plastic Letters

  out of 4 Music Review: Plastic Letters

Artist: Blondie
Genre: Rock
Release Date: September 2001

Review by Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
No rating supplied

By time Blondie released "Plastic Letters" one year after their successful debut they were starting to create a real buzz overseas. The single 'Denis', which was an adaptation of 'Denise' a sixties hit by Randy & The Rainbows, made them international stars and brisk album sales followed. This album was not as solid as their debut. Their song writing and music just wasn't as good this time out. These aspects are critical in the development and success of any group. Because of those factors the groups rapid ascension as one the best new and upcoming groups was put on hold temporarily. What was to come next was an entirely different approach to the music, songwriting, and marketing. Stardom waited patiently for them, and it was just around corner.

I heard some of that core sound and oomph on 'Youth Nabbed As A Sniper' and 'I Didn't Have The Nerve To Say No.' '(I'm Always Touched by Your) Presence, Dear' didn't help the group's image too much here in America, nevertheless it was a hit across the Atlantic. Thanks to the great mixing and remastering the highlights of the band's capabilities and talents are still unmistakable. The energy is toned down and more pop orientated. The raw energy and excitement that was in place was on vacation on this album. Regardless of my observations, the music was very good and it still stands up well today. Blondie was better than average even on an off recording session, and the fact that they made the top one hundred is a statement as well. On 'Detroit 442', the live cut, that sassy Harry vocal style is in full bloom and the band is rockin.' Putting the bonus tracks on this version really helped to make this a more appealing and stirring album. Not only because you get to hear those songs that were locked away in the closet for years, but also because it was genuinely good music. Maybe they should have reconsidered the shelved cuts and used them instead? At least now we get to hear them all, and that's cool. 'Once I Had A Love (aka The Disco Song)' is a simplified version of the mega hit 'Heart Of Glass.' This was a glimpse into what the future held. Knowing what that song sounded like on the next album shed some light on the birth and growth of song. That's the best thing about bonus tracks, you get to witness the real development of a group, painful or not. The value of this music today has no price tag so don't miss out.

1. Fan Mail (Destri)
2. Denis (Levinson)
3. Bermuda Triangle Blues (Flight 45) (Stein)
4. Youth Nabbed as Sniper (Stein)
5. Contact in Red Square (Destri)
6. (I'm Always Touched by Your) Presence, Dear (Valentine)
7. I'm on E (Harry/Stein)
8. I Didn't Have the Nerve to Say No (Destri/Harry)
9. Love at the Pier (Harry)
10. No Imagination (Destri)
11. Kidnapper (Destri)
12. Detroit 442 - (Destri/Stein)
13. Cautious Lip (Stein/Toast)
14. Poets Problem (Destri)
15. Scenery
16. Poets Problem
17. Detroit 442- Live 11/6/78 at the Walnut Theater in Philadelphia



Home | Movies | Music | Video Games | Songs | | | Columbia House | Netflix

Copyright 1998-2002
Privacy Policy |  Advertising Info |  Contact Us