All reviews all the time! Home   Movies   Music   Video Games

 Search Amazon
 Browse CDs 

 Browse Songs 

 Amazon Music Lists 

 Other Music Review

  out of 4 Music Review: Benefit

Artist: Jethro Tull
Genre: Rock
Release Date: October 1999

Review by Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
No rating supplied

Jethro Tull's third release was "Benefit." Indeed the third time is the charm. Ian Anderson's vocals were getting stronger and more dominating while his flute playing maintained its unfailing authority. Anderson remarks in the liner notes that his writing was getting darker and that he realized thirty two years later that he was being cynical in reference to being on the road and away from home. His feelings regarding the music industry were coming through as well.

'To Cry You A Song' was the strongest introduction to the fresh and new formula that they would continue to follow and develop for the rest of their long and fruitful careers. Although the group's love of blues and jazz remained evident, they were leaning heavier towards more rock and folk arrangements, which allowed them to reach a much wider audience. 'Inside' was another song that was to rapidly become a trademark of the Jethro Tull sound with Anderson's flute taking a lead role and Martin Barre strumming a soft acoustic guitar in the background, although Barre rarely remained in the background on any song, he was now more comfortable in his new surroundings and showed all of his colors on this album.. This new formula was to delight listeners worldwide. The group's diversity pleased those that loved to rock and the other segment of listeners that enjoyed the more folk, classical, and ethnic sounds that they had offered on their previous release "Stand Up." Ian Anderson was becoming the true court jester onstage and the consummate leader. This was a position that was solidified on this album and one that he would never relinquish.

The bonus tracks give an interesting glimpse into the future and a peak into the upcoming golden age of Jethro Tull.

1. With You There To Help Me
2. Nothing To Say
3. Alive And Well And Living In
4. Son
5. For Michael Collins, Jeffrey And Me
6. To Cry You A Song
7. A Time For Everything?
8. Inside
9. Play In Time
10. Sossity; You're A Woman Bonus Tracks:

11. Singing All Day
12. Witch's Promise
13. Just Trying To Be
14. Teacher (Original UK Mix)



Home | Movies | Music | Video Games | Songs | | | Columbia House | Netflix

Copyright 1998-2002
Privacy Policy |  Advertising Info |  Contact Us